Brewers association

Brewers Association Announces Winners of 2021 Industry Awards

Pamela Brulotte (Icicle Brewing Co.), Steven Pauwels (Boulevard Brewing Co.) and John Mallett (Bell’s Brewery, Inc.) receive honors

Denver, Colorado • September 11, 2021 – The Brewers Association (BA) – the nonprofit trade association dedicated to small, independent American craft brewers – today announced the winners of its 2021 industry awards. Three members of the brewing community were recognized and recognized for their dedication and service during a presentation at the Craft Brewers Conference® in Denver, Colorado. The Brewers Association recognizes people who have inspired, championed and innovated within the craft brewing industry since 1987. .

The winners were nominated by their peers and determined by vote of committees made up of members of the Brewers Association Board of Directors or past winners.

“From innovations in brewing to fighting for legislation to protect craft brewers, this year’s winners have made countless contributions to the craft beer community. We are grateful for the positive impact they have had on the industry and their efforts to advance craft brewing,” said Bob Pease, President and CEO of the Brewers Association.

2021 Industry Awards Winners

FX Matt Defense Industry Award

Pamela Brulotte, owner of Icicle Brewing Co. & München Haus (Leavenworth, Washington)
This award is named after the late FX Matt of FX Matt Brewing Co. and is given to an individual or company for their contributions and efforts in championing the small brewing industry. Brulotte is a tireless advocate for small, independent breweries and has left its mark on the Washington beer community in countless ways over the past decade. As president of the Washington Brewers Guild, Brulotte helped professionalize the organization, grow its membership, support its lobbying efforts, and serve as a mentor to the craft brewing community. Under Brulotte’s leadership, the guild challenged increased beer excise taxes and secured market access for brewers, increasing their ability to sell and market their beers.

Russell Schehrer Award for Innovation in Craft Brewing

Steven Pauwels, brewmaster at Boulevard Brewing Co. (Kansas City, Mo.)
This award is presented in honor of Russell Schehrer of Wynkoop Brewing Company to an individual or company for their innovative contributions to the brewing industry. Originally from Belgium, Pauwels has overseen all aspects of brewing and quality control since joining Boulevard Brewing in 1999. Pauwels is responsible for the development of over a dozen new Boulevard brands, including the range of critically acclaimed Smokestack Series craft beers. The celebrated brewmaster has received international recognition for his work, including several medals at the World Beer Cup® and the Great American Beer Festival®. Boulevard’s most awarded beer, ZON Belgian-Style Witbier, was the very first beer Pauwels developed when he arrived.

Brewers Association Recognition Award

John Mallett, Vice President of Operations of Bell’s Brewery, Inc. (Galesburg, Michigan)
This award is presented annually to an individual or company whose inspiration, enthusiasm and support has contributed to the craft brewing movement. Mallett began making beer professionally in 1988 and led brewing at Boston’s Commonwealth Brewery and Old Dominion Brewing Co. After founding and running SAAZ, a provider of brewing equipment and services, Mallett joined Bell’s 20 years ago. Mallett is currently president of the Brewmasters Association of the Americas and president of the American Malting Barley Association. He was president of the Hop Quality Group for 10 years. At the Brewers Association, he was a member of the Board of Directors and chaired the BA Technical Committee for many years. He received the Brewers Association Russell Schehrer Award for Innovation in Craft Brewing in 2002 and is the author of Malt: a practical guide from field to brewery as well as numerous technical documents and presentations. Mallett is a graduate and longtime extended faculty member of the Siebel Institute, and is the only person to have served on the professional blind taste panel for every Beer World Cup. He is a seasoned volunteer ski patroller and, most importantly, the proud father of two wonderful humans.

In addition to individual awards for brewers, the Brewers Association also organizes two prestigious national and international professional brewing competitions – Great American Oktoberfest and beer world cup.

For more information on previous winners and nomination information for the 2022 awards, please visit here.


Jenelle Scott, on behalf of the Brewers Association, 970.963.4873 x1224

About the Brewers Association

The Brewers Association (BA) is the nonprofit trade association dedicated to America’s small, independent brewers, their beers, and the community of brewing enthusiasts. The BA represents more than 5,600 American breweries. The BA Independent Craft Brewer Seal is a widely adopted symbol that differentiates beers from small independent craft brewers. The BA organizes events including the beer world cup®, Great American Oktoberfest®, Craft Brewers Conference® & BrewExpo America®, FLAVOR: An American Craft Beer and Dining Experience, Homebrew Con, National Homebrew Competition and American Craft Beer Week®. The BA publishes The new brewer® magazines, and Brewers publications® is the leading publisher of brewing literature in the United States. Beer lovers are invited to learn more about the vibrant world of craft beer at® and on homebrewing via BAs American Homebrew Association® and free Brewing Guru® mobile app. follow us on Facebook, Twitter and instagram.

The Brewers Association is an equal opportunity employer and does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, national origin, sex, religion, age, disability, political beliefs, orientation or marital/family status. The BA complies with the provisions of Executive Order 13672 and relevant rules, regulations and orders of the Secretary of Labor.